Reading habits meme

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack:

If I’m snacking, it’s usually some kind of cheese and cracker combination. But normally I don’t eat while I read.

What is your favorite drink while reading?

My favorite is a nice cup of peppermint tea for curling up and relaxing; but if it’s simply utility, usually water.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

It feels wrong to me; I tried to do it once in a tattered, dog-earred double copy of Sherlock Holmes, but even then… it just feels wrong. Usually if I want to keep track of a quote I particularly like, I’ll just copy it down in a Word document I keep for such purposes.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

I just remember what page number I’m on.

Fiction, nonfiction, or both?

I enjoy both, especially history (classics usually, some medieval & WWII mixed in), but I go through periods where I read more of one than the other. For example, in high school, I mostly read non-fiction. These days I usually stick with fiction, and poetry.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?

I can stop anywhere, but I generally try to finish the chapter at least. This doesn’t always happen because I do a lot of my reading before bed, and sometimes, you have to sleep when you have to sleep!

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?

No, not at all. Mostly because my books are either library books, or ones I’ve purchased with my own money!

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?

No–I don’t usually have this problem, and if I do, then it’s usually fairly easy to figure it out by context. If it’s a word that I really like the sound of and want to know the exact meaning then sometimes I will look it up, but I honestly can’t remember the last time I’ve had to do this. Possibly when I was trying to read Finnegans Wake but even a dictionary won’t help you there!

What are you currently reading?

Right now I’m in the process of re-reading Mansfield Park, which is terribly slow going. Although I am planning to stop at the library this week sometime, so I’ll probably pick up some extras there. One book I’ve been meaning to read is Vasily Grossman’s Life and Fate.

What is the last book you bought?

Probably Katia Kapovich’s Cossacks and Bandits.

Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?

One at a time.

Do you have a favorite time/place to read?

Anywhere; everywhere! I really enjoy reading no matter where it is, most of my reading is either done in coffeeshops or at home before bed nowadays though.

Do you prefer series books or stand alones?

No preference really; I read a bit of both. When you find characters and worlds you really love, a series can be nice, although waiting is occasionally torturous.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?

Hmm… I don’t know, I suppose it depends on what someone’s asking for. Bulgakov’s Master & Margarita is definitely one I recommend to the widest variety of people.

How do you organize your books? (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)

I have a tiny bookshelf here, so they’re separated by poetry, by fiction, and then by my classics/history/old epic poems in other languages (this shelf is known as the badass shelf). On the classics/history, they’re separated by country, then by how old they are. Fiction and poetry are just organized by author’s last name.

Found here and here!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meme, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

