Lucky book find of the day!

The Endeavour Journal of Sir Joseph Banks
It’s going to take me a little while to get through my next book, Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo, and I couldn’t find Shades of Milk and Honey ANYWHERE in the city (can you believe it?) so here is a little book-related post to tide you over. (Also, please ignore my ridiculous hair, it’s been hot out and I was running all over to meet my boyfriend and his coworkers for tortas at lunch.)

While browsing through the Penn bookstore’s bargain section, I found The Endeavour Journal of Sir Joseph Banks. Banks was a baronet and a naturalist and the voyage this journal is from was dated 1768 – 1771, he sailed to Brazil, then Tahiti, New Zealand, and Australia, stopping in Botany bay and also discovering something like 800 new species and cataloging them all extensively. He was also a pretty interesting character in his own right. I was thrilled to find this because not only did I have no idea it was still even in print (I’d been reading it on Project Gutenberg), but it was only $4! I’m assuming some professor had it printed for a class and then it got remaindered. Either way, this was a pleasant surprise this morning. And I also renewed my library card. Vacation is treating me well so far.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Purchases

Leave a Reply

